Matthewdavid Slings Psychedelic Beats on Mercurial 'Artforms'

Flying Lotus-signed producer/singer plots 'In My World' album for July release

Matthewdavid 'Artforms' Stream In My World Brainfeeder
This is Matthewdavid's world — we all just park our consciousnesses in it Photo by Fabrice Bourgelle
Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

A fixture of Los Angeles' psychedelic electronic underground, Matthewdavid is not only a Dublab radio resident and the founder of Leaving Records, he's an artist in his own right. On July 1, the producer/vocalist will release his second album, In My World, on Flying Lotus' Brainfeeder imprint, and it's set to be a lush and colorful trip into the man's inimitable ear. For evidence, look no further than "Artforms," streaming below. The new track opens with a record scratch but soon gives way to soothing voice and organic instrumentation. Later, the beat surges to the fore, and the picture shifts again. "I'm feeling all the art forms start to blend together," Matthewdavid coos. That could be the drugs taking hold, but more likely it's our host's way with sound. Listen here:

In My World track list:

1. "In My World"
2. "Cosmic Caller"
3. "The Mood Is Right"
4. "Perpetual Moon Moods"
5. "House of Horus"
6. "Next to You Always"
7. "Artforms"
8. "Singing Flats"
9. "West Coast Jungle Juke"
10. "Birds in Flight" (feat. the Light of Love Children's Choir)

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Django Django — First Light " 04:49
  • 2 Happy Fangs — In the Morning " 03:08
  • 3 Santiparro — The Benefit of Confrontation " 04:49
  • 4 Soda Fabric — Teenage Illusion " 04:03
  • 5 Walter Lukens — Every Night " 02:55
  • 6 Sarah Bethe Nelson — Paying " 05:47
  • 7 Faith Healer — Again " 02:57

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA