Hear 'Making the Freeway' Off fIREHOSE's New Anthology

Hot on the heels of the post-Minutemen outfit's first of two Coachella sets

fIREHOSE / Photo by Bob Lee for The Los Angeles Beat
fIREHOSE / Photo by Bob Lee for The Los Angeles Beat
Steve Kandell

The seven-song 1992 Live Totem Pole EP from Mike Watt and George Hurley's post-Minutemen outfit has been out of print forever. But lowFLOWS: The Columbia Anthology ('91-'93), which arrives hot on the heels of the band's Coachella appearance and west-coast tour (the band's first shows in 18 years) includes that EP, the other albums they released after leaving SST, and assorted unreleased odds and sods. "Making the Freeway," originally from fiREHOSE'S second album If'n, is one of just two originals on Live Totem Pole — although the EP-opening cover of Blue Oyster Cult's "The Red and the Black" also appeared on the final Minutemen studio album — and it's here for your pleasure, with Ed Crawford, of course, on vocals.


<i>Mike Watt: On and Off Bass</i>

<i>Mike Watt: On and Off Bass</i>

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA