FestWatch: NXNE, North Coast, and DeLuna Announce Lineups

Eddie Vedder (Getty) / Wayne Coyne (Getty) / Pretty Lights (Ian Witlen)
Eddie Vedder (Getty) / Wayne Coyne (Getty) / Pretty Lights (Ian Witlen)
Devon Maloney WRITTEN BY
Devon Maloney

If you were worried there wouldn't be a festival happening every weekend this summer, a couple more announced their lineups today (not just Outside Lands!). The city of Toronto and the 19th annual NXNE Festival will welcome over 650 bands, with the Flaming Lips (whose show will be free), Raekwon & Ghostface Killah, and Bad Religion topping the lineup during the week of June 11-17. Oberhofer, Friends, Death Grips, Purity Ring, the Men, and 2:54 will help fill out the buzz quota for the week. Wristbands are already on sale for the fest, which, like SXSW, includes film and interactive components.

Then, at the end of the summer, Labor Day weekend (that's August 31 through September 2) will see the third-annual Chicago's North Coast Festival hosting Big Boi (who's also playing Outside Lands), Pretty Lights and Dan Deacon, in addition to Atmosphere, YACHT, the Rapture and Steve Aoki. Until tomorrow, Groupon has a good 50 percent off deal for 3-day passes ($62); after that, normally priced regular and VIP tickets go on sale.

A few weeks later, folks still not tuckered out by the summer's fest season can head down to Pensacola, Florida, where Pearl Jam and Foo Fighters will spearhead the also-third-annual DeLuna Festival September 21-23. The Joy Formidable, Florence + the Machine, and Band of Horses will also be there, but the main thing to note about DeLuna is how hard fest-goers will yearn for their pasts, to the tunes of Guided By Voices, Superchunk, the Wallflowers, and Joan Jett and the Blackhearts. Advance tickets are on sale now for $160, until they run out, at which point the regularly priced $200 passes will be sold.

NXNE 2012 Initial Lineup
The Flaming Lips
Raekwon & Ghostface Killah
Matthew Good
Of Montreal
No Use For A Name
Purity Ring
Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Death Grips
The Men
Good Riddance
Plants & Animals
The Death Set
The Sadies & Andre Williams
Reigning Sound
Action Bronson
Yamantaka/ /Sonic Titan
The Hundred in The Hands
Rival Schools
Killer Mike
Young Magic
Hayes Carll
Bran Van 3000
The Black Belles
Odonis Odonis
Mac DeMarco
Bass Drum of Death
Porcelain Raft
Grass Widow
Eight and a Half
DZ Deathrays
Jonathan Toubin
Art vs. Science
The Nils
Ivan Julian

North Coast 2012 Initial Lineup
Pretty Lights
Big Boi
Steve Aoki
The Rapture
Mord Fustang
Felix da Housecat
Dan Deacon
King Khan and the Shrines
Rebirth Brass Band
Van Ghost
Maya Jane Coles
Com Truise
Auto Body

DeLuna 2012 Initial Lineup
Pearl Jam
Foo Fighters
Florence + the Machine
Band of Horses
Dwight Yoakam
Ben Folds Five
Guided by Voices
DJ Jazzy Jeff
The Joy Formidable
The Gaslight Anthem
The Wallflowers
Joan Jett and the Blackhearts
Bad Brains
City and Colour
Band of Skulls
The Wood Brothers
Walker Hays
Kermitt Ruffins and the Barbecue Swingers
Mike Doughty
Corin Tucker Band
Rebirth Brass Band
Ivan Neville's Dumpstafunk
The Silos
Anders Osbourne
The Parlotones
Ben Sollee
Tin Men w/ Washboard Chaz
Eric Lindell
Charmaine Neville
Chris Thomas King
Lights Resolve
Antoine Knight
The Villains
Kitt Lough
Hip Kitty
The Gills
Deadly Fists of Kung-Fu
Pioneers! O' Pioneers!

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA