Hear Ex-Cult's Brutal, Psych-Tinged Proto-Punk on 'Midnight Passenger'

Second LP from Memphis terrors lands on April 29

ex-cult, midnight passenger
Ex-Cult Photo by Brian Benton
Kyle McGovern WRITTEN BY
Kyle McGovern

Ex-Cult emerged in 2012 with a self-titled debut album that SPIN described as "a weird, sometimes frightening set of tight-fisted proto-punk." The Memphis five-piece — led by Chris Shaw, formerly of local hardcore crew Vile Nation — followed that first full-length with a grueling tour schedule that saw them desecrate dive bars all over the U.S. Criss-crossing the country four times also helped Ex-Cult hone their breed of muscle-sludge into the 10 psych-slimed tracks found on Midnight Passenger, the band's upcoming sophomore LP.

Recorded by Doug Easley (who also oversaw Ex-Cult's "Mister Fantasy"/"Through the Blinds" 7-inch), Midnight Passenger won't see the light until April 29, but Ex-Cult have unleashed the effort's title track, a relentless mix of propeller-chop guitar, churning noise-rock squall, and monotone taunts.

Find "Midnight Passenger" below, followed by the album's cover art and track list. Pre-orders of Midnight Passenger are currently available through Goner Records.

Midnight Passenger track list:

1. "Shattered Circle"
2. "Ties You Up"
3. "Midnight Passenger"
4. "Confusion Hill"
5. "Catholic Entries"
6. "Flickering Eyes"
7. "Venice Illusion"
8. "Sid Visions"
9. "Not a Threat"
10. "Lights Out Club"

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Miley Cyrus — Baby, I'm Gonna Leave You - Led Zeppelin (Cover) " 05:44
  • 2 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26
  • 3 Buzzcocks — "It's Not You" " 02:46
  • 4 The Drums — Magic Mountain " 04:05
  • 5 Jessie Ware — Kind Of...Sometimes...Maybe " 03:46
  • 6 Flying Lotus — Coronus, the Terminator " 02:40

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA