Hear Dinosaur Jr.'s Furious 'Pierce the Morning Rain': Premiere

From the legendary indie rock trio's excellent new LP, 'I Bet On Sky'

Dinosaur Jr. / Photo by Brantley Gutierrez
Dinosaur Jr. / Photo by Brantley Gutierrez
David Bevan WRITTEN BY
David Bevan

This past May, during a trip to Dinosaur Jr. frontman J Mascis' home and studio in Amherst, Massachusetts, SPIN watched as the legendary indie rock trio finished up work on I Bet On Sky, their third full-length since reuniting in 2005. At the time, Mascis in particular seemed vexed by one song, a candied bruiser (working title "Downtown") whose vocal-less mix he and longtime producer John Agnello spent much of an afternoon scrutinizing as it blasted on the Mascis family stereo. That song would later be known as "Pierce the Morning Rain," and the record itself, out tomorrow on Jagjaguwar in North America (today in the U.K. and Europe), would take its title from one of its striking lyrics. Hear it exclusively below and be sure to look out for a lengthy, in-depth profile of the band here this week.


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA