Hear D'Angelo Cover Al Green and the Ohio Players

Tracks are from expanded re-release of 1995 live set

D'Angelo Releases 3 Rare Live Songs From 1995 Photo by Mychal Watts/Getty Images
Mike Ayers

While there's still no release date for D'Angelo's follow-up to his 2000 classic Voodoo, he's tiding us over with a new live album called Live at the Jazz Cafe, London The Complete Show, due out March 25. The album is an expanded version of a rare 1998 Japanese EP and beefs it up with five previously unreleased cuts, all taken from a 1995 concert in London. Now you can hear three songs from this new set: a cover of the Ohio Players' "Sweet Sticky Thing" and his own song "Jonz in My Bonz," (via Rolling Stone) as well as Al Green's "I'm Glad Your Mine" (via Billboard).

The rest of the set features other D'Angelo classics like "Brown Sugar," "Shit, Damn, Motherfucker," and "Lady" as well as covers of Smokey Robinson's "Cruisin'" and Mandrill's "Fencewalk."

Though he was largely absent from the spotlight in the last 10 years, D'angelo has been playing out more regularly over the past couple of years, with one-off club gigs, festival appearances and a European tour a couple of years back. This May, he'll be a guest speaker at the Red Bull Music Academy in New York and on August 13, he'll join Aloe Blacc and Bettye LaVette at the Hollywood Bowl for a James Brown tribute concert. Still, what about that album? His longtime producer Russ Elevado recently leaked a bit of footage that shared some sound snippets. The wait continues ... 



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA