Clap Your Hands Say Yeah Set for Album, Tour

Alec Ounsworth in 'Hysterical'
Peter Gaston

Philly/Brooklyn quintet Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, who rode a wave of blog adoration into a rather amazing DIY success story with their self-titled 2005 debut album, will return this September with Hysterical, their first record in four years. A preview video was released today, featuring studio footage and snippets of three songs.

The first tune features aggressive, fuzzy guitars, with frontman Alec Ounsworth's trademark howl taking more of a backseat in the mix. The second cut leans a more on bass and quirky keyboard parts, while the third is rambling, rootsy rock song.

Hysterical, produced by John Congleton (Modest Mouse, Okkervil River), hits stores Sept. 20. In the meantime, the band will reissue their debut album June 14 on remastered vinyl, and play a handful of gigs, including San Francisco's Outside Lands festival in mid-August, and L.A.'s Sunset Junction fest in late-August.

Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, Hysterical teaser

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 2 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 3 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 4 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 5 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35
  • 6 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 7 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA