Bosnian Rainbows Go Around the World in Six Minutes With 'Turtle Neck' Video

Omar Rodriguez-Lopez' new bands preps debut LP for June

Chris Martins WRITTEN BY
Chris Martins

The Mars Volta is dead but Bosnian Rainbows beam on. That latest band to emerge from the beloved prog posse — featuring Omar Rodríguez-López along with Volta drummer Deantoni Parks, Les Butcherettes singer Teri Gender-Bender, and keyboardist Nicci Kasper — has a self-titled album due June 25 via Sargent House. They've also been putting in road work since forming in mid-2012, testing the mettle of new songs like new-wavy alt-popper "Torn Maps" or the sprawling post-hardcore piece "Turtle Neck." That latter track has now been set to video shot while the Rainbows were in motion — a frenetic blur of travel footage that leaps across continents, finds the band sucking up the world's wi-fi, follows them from stage to studio, and, perhaps best of all, features a brief light-saber battle in a convenience store. The song itself is basically a two-parter, with the first half colored by lush waves of guitar, piano plinks, and Gender-Bender's mournful coo. The second part is menacing and heavy as the vocals become distorted and the visuals quicken.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 OOFJ — I Forgive You " 03:52
  • 2 MyMidnightHeart — D R O W N " 04:59
  • 3 In Tall Buildings — Bawl Cry Wail " 04:08
  • 4 Slutever — Smother " 01:55
  • 5 Lithuania — Pieces " 03:40
  • 6 Kuroma — Love Is on the Way " 03:29
  • 7 Big Sean — Blessings " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA