Here's the First Song From the First Aphex Twin Album in 13 Years

"Fartist" Richard D. James gives us the first taste and it's a trip

Aphex Twin minipops 67 [120.2][source field mix] Stream SYRO
Colin Stutz

Aphex Twin's rollout for his first album in 13 years, SYRO, has been full of pleasant surprises, starting with the fact he's releasing a new record. There was the fact that he teased the thing with an actual blimp, then announced the details on the deep web, then released barely legible autobiography, and followed that up with contests for listening parties. Well, surprise again because just like that we have our first actual taste of the album, and it's called "minipops 67 [120.2][source field mix]." Heard below, the track has our already salivating ears (why not?) focused on a steadily building beat as the "fartist" born Richard D. James develops an amalgam of fluid sonic ideas at once bizarre and perfectly fitting. You know, like he does so well. 

Listen here:


00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Night Drive — Easy to Lie " 03:56
  • 2 Young Buffalo — No Idea " 03:59
  • 3 Vaadat Charigim — Ein Li Makom " 03:46
  • 4 Lindstrøm — Home Tonight " 09:13
  • 5 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 6 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 7 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA