Watch Aussie Psych-Poppers' the Ancients' Toe-Tapping 'Hey Now' Video

A tuneful standout from Melbourne quintet's upcoming 'Night Bus' LP

Marc Hogan

On October 18, Melbourne psych-pop five-piece the Ancients will release new album Night Bus on Australian label Chapter Music (Beaches, Cannanes, Pikelet). Lead single "Molokai" (via Impose) is languid, guitar-centered melancholy that's woozy enough for the LP's title. "Hey Now" maintains the moonlit, post-Velvets feel, but stacks pounding drums, glistening keys, and scratchy guitar licks that are both hummable and slightly disorienting. Listeners weaned on Antipodean bands from the Shocking Pinks to Tame Impala should find plenty here to include on their early a.m. Megabus mixes. And the newly released video puts an endearingly gawky full-band performance, complete with Peanuts sweater, though a variety of tripped-out visual effects.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 2 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 3 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57
  • 4 Blood Orange — Delancey " 02:15
  • 5 Gangrene — Play It Cool Feat Samuel T. Herring (of Future Islands) & Earl Sweatshirt " 03:53
  • 6 Jay Electronica — Road To Perdition feat. Jay Z " 03:33
  • 7 Sun Kil Moon — Ali/Spinks 2 " 00:00

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA