Skip to content

Future Islands Readies First Album Since 2020

Project includes three previously released singles and the new 'The Tower'
Future Islands
(photo: Frank Hamilton)

Future Islands’s seventh studio album, People Who Aren’t There Anymore, is on the way. It will be released on Jan. 26, 2024 through 4AD and is the follow-up to 2020’s As Long As You Are. It was was co-produced by Future Islands and Steve Wright and includes previously released singles “Deep in the Night,” “King of Sweden,” and “Peach.”

Future Islands has hared a video for the album’s latest single, “The Tower,” which was directed by Jonathan van Tulleken. Previously, van Tulleken worked with Future Islands singer Samuel T. Herring on Apple TV’s The Changeling.

“Anyone who’s seen Sam on stage shape shift with his whole body and voice from heart wrenchingly tender to fantastically ferocious knows that he is a truly, magnetic, performer,” van Tulleken said in a statement. “This was no small reason why he was cast for a role in The Changeling where he plays a complex character who appears to be one thing whilst actually another. It was a role that would be no easy task for even the most seasoned actor but Sam, applying all his stage craft, charisma, smarts and natural empathy, absolutely nailed it producing a riveting performance.

“I loved working with someone who came to acting via this persona they had built in their music. To then get to collaborate on a music video with the band was a delight especially one which explores that duality of light and dark literally and metaphorically. Finding that same captivating, haunting, performance but this time with the track as script.”

Future Islands People Who Aren’t There Anymore tracklisting:

  1. King of Sweden
  2. The Tower
  3. Deep In The Night
  4. Say Goodbye
  5. Give Me The Ghost Back
  6. Corner Of My Eye
  7. The Thief
  8. Iris
  9. The Fight
  10. Peach
  11. The Sickness
  12. The Garden Wheel