Sharon Van Etten Announces Sixth Studio Record

Sharon Van Etten
Michael Schmelling

Sharon Van Etten has a new album on the way. Titled We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong.

 

 

The indie rocker’s sixth record is out May 6 via Jagjaguwar. Van Etten took on the record’s guitar, synthesizers, piano, drum machine, wurlitzer, keys, and more. Her regular touring band recorded with her, including Jorge Balbi on drums, Devon Hoff on bass, and musical director Charley Damski on synthesizers and guitars.

Yet unlike her prior releases, Van Etten will not release singles leading up to the album’s release date.

“I wanted to approach this release differently,” Van Etten says, “to engage my fans in an intentional way, in an effort to present the album as a whole body of work. These ten songs are designed to be listened to in order, at once, so that a much larger story of hope, loss, longing and resilience can be told.”

Van Etten is already on the road touring. She is scheduled for a few southern gigs this month, before embarking on her European headlining Darkness Fades Tour, followed by The Wild Hearts Tour with Angel Olsen, Julien Baker, and Spencer. Tickets for all Van Etten shows are available on her website.

Weʼve Been Going About This All Wrong, Sharon Van Etten
Jagjaguwar, 2022

Sharon Van Etten Weʼve Been Going About This All Wrong Track List

1. Darkness Fades
2. Home to Me
3. Iʼll Try
4. Anything
5. Born
6. Headspace
7. Come Back
8. Darkish
9. Mistakes
10. Far Away

Sharon Van Etten Tour Dates

Thu. Apr. 21 – Charlottesville, VA @ The Jefferson Theatre
Fri. Apr. 22 – Saxapahaw, NC @ Haw River Ballroom ~
Sat. Apr. 23 – Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse ~
Sun. Apr. 24 – Charleston, SC @ High Water Music Festival
Tue. May 31 – Lisbon, PT @ Aula Magna ^#
Thu. Jun. 2 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Sun. Jun. 5 – München, DE @ Muffathalle ^%
Mon. Jun. 6 – Antwerp, BE @ Openluchttheater Rivierenhof ^%
Tue. Jun. 7 – Hamburg, DE @ Markthalle ^%
Thu. Jun. 9 – Oslo, NE @ Loaded &
Fri. Jun. 10 – Stockholm, SE @ Rosendal, Djurgarden &
Sat. Jun. 11 – Copenhagen, DK @ Syd For Solen &
Mon. Jun. 13 – Berlin, DE @ Metropol ^%
Tue. Jun. 14 – Utrecht, NE @ TivoliVredenberg Grote Zaal ^%
Wed. Jun. 15 – Paris, FR @ La Cigale ^%
Fri. Jun. 17 – London, UK @ O2 Brixton Academy ^%
Sat. Jun. 18 – Birmingham, UK @ O2 Institute ^%
Sun. Jun. 19 – Leeds, UK @ 02 Academy Leeds ^%
Tue. Jun. 21 – Glasgow, UK @ Barrowland ^%
Wed. Jun. 22 – Dublin, IE @ Vicar Street ^%

Thu. Jul. 21 – Vienna, VA @ Wolf Trap Center For the Performing Arts *
Fri. Jul. 22 – Asheville, NC @ Rabbit Rabbit *
Sat. Jul. 23 – Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium * √
Mon. Jul. 25 – Austin, TX @ Moody Amphitheater *
Thu. Jul. 28 – Los Angeles, CA @ Greek Theatre *
Fri. Jul. 29 – Los Angeles, CA @ Greek Theatre *
Sat. Jul 30 – Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theatre *
Tu. Aug. 2 – Troutdale, OR @ McMenamins Edgefield Amphitheater *
Wed. Aug. 3 – Redmond, WA @ Marymoor Amphitheater *
Fri. Aug. 5 – Boise, ID @ Idaho Botanical Garden *
Sat. Aug. 6 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Twilight Concert Series *
Sun. Aug. 7 – Denver, CO @ Sculpture Park *
Tue. Aug. 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ Surly Brewing Festival Field *
Wed. Aug 10 – Chicago, IL @ The Salt Shed *
Thu. Aug. 11 – Kalamazoo, MI @ Bellʼs Eccentric Cafe *
Fri. Aug. 12 – Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall * √
Sat. Aug. 13 – Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall * √
Mon. Aug. 15 – Shelburne, VT @ The Green at Shelburne Museum *
Tue. Aug. 16 – LaFayette, NY @ Beak & Skiff Apple Orchards *
Thu. Aug. 18 – Boston, MA @ Leader Bank Pavilion *
Fri. Aug. 19 – Philadelphia, PA @ Skyline Stage at The Mann *
Sat. Aug. 20 – New York, NY @ Central Park Summerstage *
Sun. Aug. 21 – New York, NY @ Central Park Summerstage *

~=withMiaJoy
& = with The National
^ = Darkness Fades Tour
# = with The Weather Station
% = with LʼRain
* = The Wild Hearts Tour with Angel Olsen, Julien Baker, & Spencer. √ = no Spencer.

 

IMPACT

you may like

Scroll to Top