Built to Spill to Release First New Album in Seven Years

Listen to the album’s first single “Gonna Lose”
Built to Spill
(Credit: Alex Graham)

Built to Spill has announced plans to release a new album When the Wind Forgets Your Name, their first release since 2015’s  Untethered Moon. The new nine-track album is the band’s first release through Sub Pop and will be available in full on September 9, 2022. The album is available for preorder here.

Today, the band has released the lead single “Gonna Lose,” along with a dynamic, humorous, and psychedelic animated video. The video was directed by Jordan Minkoff and features animations from Minkoff and Lee McClure.

Built to Spill has also scheduled over 70 performances set for the spring, summer, and fall. The tour dates kick off April 13th at Chicago’s House of Blues supporting Jawbreaker for a four-night set of performances and ends in September in Salt Lake City, UT at Metro Music Hall. The tour will feature the live debts of the songs from When the Wind Forgets Your Name along with an assortment of fan favorites.

Oruã, Prism Bitch, Itchy Kitty, Wetface, Blood Lemon, The French Tips, Sunbathe, Distant Family, and Braided Waves are included in the list of supporters for select shows. The touring band will include Martsch, bassist Melanie Radford, and drummer Teresa Esguerra on all of the tour dates. More information on tickets can be found here.

Built to Spill Upcoming Tour Dates

Wed. Apr 13 – Chicago, IL – House of Blues **
Thu. Apr. 14 – Chicago, IL – House of Blues **
Fri. Apr. 15 – Chicago, IL – House of Blues **
Sat. Apr. 16 – Chicago, IL – House of Blues **
Tue. Apr. 20 – Reno, NV – The Holland Project ^ !
Wed. Apr. 21 – Las Vegas, NV – Rockstar Bar ^ !
Fri. Apr. 22 – Phoenix, AZ – Crescent Ballroom ^ !
Sat. Apr. 23 – Tucson, AZ – 191 Toole ^ !
Sun. Apr. 24 – Phoenix, AZ – Orpheum Theater ^ !
Mon. Apr. 25 – Albuquerque, NM – Launch Pad ^ !
Wed. Apr. 27 – Oklahoma City, OK – Tower Theatre ^ !
Thu. Apr. 28 – Dallas, TX – Granada Theater ^ !
Fri. Apr. 29 – Austin, TX – Mohawk ^ !
Sat. Apr. 30 – San Antonio, TX – Paper Tiger ^ !
Sun. May 01 – Houston, TX – White Oak Music Hall ^ !
Mon. May 02 – New Orleans, LA – Republic New Orleans ^ !
Wed. May 04 – Nashville, TN – Basement East ^ !
Thu. May 05 – Atlanta, GA – Variety Playhouse ^ !
Fri. May 06 – Asheville, NC – Grey Eagle Tavern ^ !
Sat. May 07 – Charlotte, NC – Neighborhood Theatre ^ !
Sun. May 08 – Carrboro, NC – Cat’s Cradle ^ !
Tue. May 10 – Richmond, VA – The Broadberry ^ !
Wed. May 11 – Philadelphia, PA – Union Transfer # %
Thu. May 12 – Washington, DC – 930 Club # %
Fri. May 13 – Jersey City, NJ – White Eagle Hall # %
Sat. May 14 – Boston, MA – Paradise # %
Sun. May 15 – Pawtucket, RI -The Met # %
Tue. May 17 – Brooklyn, NY – Brooklyn Bowl # %
Wed. May 18 – Brooklyn, NY – Brooklyn Bowl # %
Thu. May 19 – Pittsburgh, PA – Mr. Smalls # %
Fri. May 20 – Indianapolis, IN – Hi-Fi # %
Sat. May 21- Detroit, MI – St. Andrew’s Hall + $
Sun. May 22 – Kalamazoo, MI – Bell’s Eccentric Cafe & Brewery + $
Tue. May 24 – Milwaukee, WI – Turner Hall + $
Wed. May 25 – Maquoketa, IA – Codfish Hollow Barnstormers + $
Thu. May 26 – Omaha, NE – Waiting Room + $
Fri. May 27 – Fort Collins, CO – Aggie Theater + $
Sat. May 28 – Boulder, CO – Boulder Theater + $
Sun. May 29 – Grand Junction, CO – Mesa Theater + $
Fri. Jun. 03 – Hood River, OR – The Ruins add support
Sat. Jul. 23 – Carnation, WA – Timber! Festival
Sat. Jul. 30 – Stanley, ID – Sawtooth Family Gathering
Sat. Aug. 06 – Happy Valley, OR – Pickathon
Sun. Aug. 07 – Happy Valley, OR – Pickathon
Thu. Aug. 11 – Spokane, WA – Lucky You Lounge ^ @
Fri. Aug. 12 – Bozeman, MT – The ELM ^ @
Sat. Aug. 13 – Billings, MT – The Pub Station ^ @
Mon. Aug. 15 – Fargo, ND – The Hall @ FBC ^ @
Tue. Aug. 16 – Minneapolis, MN – First Avenue ^ @
Wed. Aug. 17 – Madison, WI – Majestic Theater ^ @
Thu. Aug. 18 – Chicago, IL – Thalia Hall ^ @
Fri. Aug. 19 – Chicago, IL – Thalia Hall ^ @
Sat. Aug. 20 – Louisville, KY – Headliner’s Music Hall ^ @
Mon. Aug. 22 – Cincinnati, OH – Woodward Theater ^ @
Tue. Aug. 23 – Cleveland Heights, OH – Grog Shop ^ @
Wed. Aug. 24 – Toronto, ON – Danforth Music Hall %
Thu. Aug. 25 – Montreal, QC – Corona Theatre # %
Fri. Aug. 26 – Portland, ME – State Theatre # %
Sat. Aug. 27 – New Haven, CT – College Street Music Hall # %
Mon. Aug. 29 – South Burlington, VT – Higher Ground # %
Tue. Aug. 30 – Holyoke, MA – Gateway City Arts # %
Fri. Sep. 02 – Baltimore, MD – Ram’s Head Live # %
Sat. Sep. 03 – Asbury Park, NJ – Stone Pony # %
Sun. Sep. 04 – Bethlehem, PA – Musikfest # %
Tue. Sep. 06 – Columbus, OH – The Athenaeum Theatre * =
Wed. Sep. 07 – Knoxville, TN – The Mill & Mine * =
Thu. Sep. 08 – Wilmington, NC – Greenfield Lake Amphitheater * =
Fri. Sep. 09 – Charleston, SC – Charleston Music Hall * =
Sat. Sep. 10 – St. Petersburg, FL – Jannus Live * =
Sun. Sep. 11 – Ft. Lauderdale, FL – Culture Room * =
Tue. Sep. 13 – Orlando, FL – The Social * =
Wed. Sep. 14 – Jacksonville, FL – Jack Rabbits * =
Thu. Sep. 15 – Pensacola, FL – Vinyl Music Hall * =
Fri. Sep. 16 – Birmingham, AL – Saturn Birmingham * =
Sat. Sep. 17 – Memphis, TN – Growler’s * =
Sun. Sep. 18 – Tulsa, OK – Cain’s Ballroom * =
Mon. Sep. 19 – St. Louis, MO – Red Flag * =
Tue. Sep. 20 – Columbia, MO – Blue Note * =
Wed. Sep. 21 – Lawrence, KS – Granada Theater * =
Fri. Sep. 23 – Denver, CO – Bluebird Theater * =
Sat. Sep. 24 – Salt Lake City, UT – Metro Music Hall * =

* w/ Orua
^ w/ Prism Bitch
! w/ Itchy Kitty
# w/ Wetface
% w/ Blood Lemon
+ w/ Sunbathe
$ w/ Distant Family
@ w/ Braided Waves

IMPACT

you may like

Scroll to Top