Skip to content
New Music

Stream Sun Kil Moon’s New Double Album Common as Light and Love Are Red Valleys of Blood

AUSTIN, TEXAS - MARCH 18: Mark Kozelek aka Sun Kill Moon performs at SHOWTIME Roadies House at SXSW 2016 at Clive Bar during SXSW 2016 on March 18, 2016 in Austin, Texas. (Photo by Rahav Segev/Getty Images for Showtime Networks)

Sun Kil Moon, the project of perpetually bummed out Mark Kozelek, is releasing a new album this Friday. It’s called Common As Light And Love Are Red Valleys Of Blood, and it’s a double album recorded with Sonic Youth drummer Steve Shelley. You can stream it now at Sun Kil Moon’s website here. Find the tracklist below.

Sun Kil Moon’s website has also posted a new interview between Kozelek and Conor Oberst of Bright Eyes fame. It starts off with some more technical questions about the recording of the new album, but quickly turns personal. Some of the more intriguing bits relate to Kozelek’s difficulty in connecting with millennials, as he describes:

It’s difficult for me to talk about the positive side of pre-internet days, with say, someone who is in their mid-20s, as they have no concept of how the world was then and they don’t care. They could care less what coffee shop used to be a record store. People are addicted to the internet like that green sludge in the movie Idiocracy. They buy into everything Silicon Valley sells them without question. But I’m meeting more people who are weening themselves off, as aspects of the internet aren’t bringing them any uplift or progress. On the other hand Trump is now Twitter’s number 1 poster boy so it’s hard to say where it’s all going.

Not to worry entirely, though: He says a Sarah Lawrence student named Max, who’s name checked on album cut “Sarah Lawrence College Song,” “renewed my faith in millennials.” Read the whole thing here.

Common As Light And Love Are Red Valleys Of Blood:

Disc 1:

1. “God Bless Ohio”
2. “Chili Lemon Peanuts”
3. “Philadelphia Cop”
4. “The Highway Song”
5. “Lone Star”
6. “Window Sash Weights”
7. “Sarah Lawrence College Song”
8. “Butch Lullaby”

Disc 2:
1. “Stranger Than Paradise”
2. “Early June Blues”
3. “Bergen to Trondheim”
4. “I Love Portugal”
5. “Bastille Day”
6. “Vague Rock Song”
7. “Seventies TV Show Theme Song”
8. I Love You Forever and Beyond Eternity”