Skip to content

Godspeed You! Black Emperor to Release New Album, ‘Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress’

Godspeed You! Black Emperor

Post-rock overlords Godspeed You! Black Emperor have announced the follow-up to 2012’s Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend! Titled Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress, the Canadian act’s sixth studio album will be out on March 31 via Constellation Records. As for further details, so far we know that Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress is 40 minutes long, produced by sound engineer Greg Norman in North Carolina and Montreal, and will consist of four tracks. According to Constellation Records, the album is “arguably the most focused and best-sounding recording of the band’s career.”

In celebration of their upcoming release, Godspeed have unveiled an excerpt of the album’s eight-minute opening track, “Peasantry or ‘Light! Inside of Light!'” Check it out below.