Skip to content

Franz Ferdinand Quietly Reveal LP4 ‘Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action’

franz ferdinand, right thoughts, right words, right action

We already heard a couple of new Franz Ferdinand tracks earlier this year, but we’ll get a whole set of fresh songs this summer. The Glaswegian dance-rock connoisseurs will return with their fourth studio album — Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action — on August 27 via Domino Records (August 26 for U.K. fans).

The follow-up to 2009’s Tonight: Franz Ferdinand will be available in digital, CD and vinyl formats; deluxe versions of the CD and LP copies will come with a second disc of live session material called Right Notes, Right Words, Wrong Order

Franz Ferdinand’s next full-length will also come in a special “Passport Edition” that collects the deluxe CD and LP releases, plus an exclusive 7-inch with two rare tracks, an additional colored 7-inch single, a bonus 12-inch single, a set of four postcards (one from each bandmember), high-quality audio files, and exclusive digital content. The “Passport Edition” is limited to 500 copies worldwide. 

Pre-orders for Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action can be placed here

Watch the album’s trailer above (it features a few seconds of what sounds like the opening number), and watch live footage of Right Thoughts cut “Evil Eye” below. Another new song Franz Ferdinand recently played live, “The Blackpool Illuminati,” isn’t featured on the LP’s track listing — at least not by that name. Find the entire track list below.

Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action track list:

1. “Right Action”
2. “Evil Eye”
3. “Love Illumination”
4. “Stand on the Horizon”
5. “Fresh Strawberries”
6. “Bullet”
7. “Treason! Animals.”
8. “The Universe Expanded”
9. “Brief Encounters”
10. “Goodbye Lovers & Friends”