Skip to content

Los Campesinos! Bid Adieu to Departed Member With First-Ever Live Album

los campesinos!, a good night for a fistfight

Last December, Los Campesinos! said farewell to now-former bandmember Ellen Campesinos! by playing a sold-out show in front of 800 fans at London’s Islington Assembly Hall. That gig also served a couple of other purposes: It marked the return of Aleks Campesinos!, who took a three-year hiatus from the U.K. outfit, and it provided material for the band’s first-ever live album, A Good Night for a Fistfight.

The unedited 91-minute collection features 21 tracks culled from the group’s four proper LPs and more, making it “the closest [Los Campesinos!] are ever likely to get to a ‘Greatest Hits,'” according to the Welsh crew’s website. Fans can now pre-order A Good Night for a Fistfight, which will be e-mailed to buyers on May 4.

Anyone who reserves the digital release in advance will get an instant download of the live recording of “Baby I Got the Death Rattle,” but everyone can hear the Good Night for a Fistfight rendition of “We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed,” which is streaming down below.

Meanwhile, Los Campesinos! have announced that they’ll be hitting the studio in June to work on their fifth full-length, the follow-up to 2011’s Hello Sadness. Scroll down for the full track list to A Good Night for a Fistfight.

A Good Night for a Fistfight track list:

1. “Ways to Make It Through the Wall”
2. “Death to Los Campesinos!”
3. “Romance Is Boring”
4. “By Your Hand”
5. “Hello Sadness”
6. “A Heat Rash in the Shape of the Show Me State; or, Letters from Me to Charlotte”
7. “I Just Sighed. I Just Sighed, Just So You Know”
8. “Songs About Your Girlfriend”
9. “Miserabilia”
10. “We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed”
11. “There Are Listed Buildings”
12. “Knee Deep at ATP”
13. “Straight in at 101”
14. “My Year in Lists”
15. “Heart Swells/Pacific Daylight Time”
16. “The Sea Is a Good Place to Think of the Future”
17. “You! Me! Dancing!”
18. “Baby I Got the Death Rattle”
19. “In Medias Res”
20. “We Throw Parties, You Throw Knives”
21. “Sweet Dreams, Sweet Cheeks”