Skip to content

Jimmy Eat World Revive Long-Forgotten Radiohead Song for Record Store Day

jimmy eat world, damage, radiohead

Jimmy Eat World are planning to return this summer with Damage, a new collection of emo-pop heartbreakers set to arrive on June 11 via RCA, but first the Arizona outfit will issue a Record Store Day exclusive 7-inch single featuring a cover of Radiohead’s “Stop Whispering,” an unfairly overlooked single from the English rockers’ 1993 debut, Pablo Honey.

When speaking to Rolling Stone recently, Jimmy Eat World frontman Jim Adkins explained that the group chose to tackle the ballad precisely because it’s a good song “that you never hear anyone play.” Well, it certainly isn’t covered nearly as much as Pablo Honey‘s other single. The ode to Oxford’s finest will be available on April 20 and appear alongside the title track to Jimmy Eat World’s upcoming Damage LP, the band’s first record since leaving Interscope Records.

Adkins was reportedly a bit cagey about describing the pending full-length’s sound, but did say that the follow-up to 2010’s Invented features “slightly more of an emphasis on acoustic guitar, although I wouldn’t say it’s an acoustic album.” He clarified further, saying, “I hate saying more raw, but it’s more raw and warm… There was less an emphasis on it being clean and perfect. There’s a lot of stuff that’s more about the performance than it sounding pristine.”

The alt-pop vet opened up more when discussing the big idea behind the Alain Johannes-produced effort. “As you get older it’s more interesting to have a theme that everything tries to support — I would say this album has a theme,” Adkins said. “I would describe it as an attempt at making an adult break-up record. The consequences to what the characters are going through are more significant. There’s just more to it. I’m 37 and the world around me is a lot different than when I was writing breakup songs in my 20s.”

Jimmy Eat World’s leader also teased plans for a world tour that will supposedly kick off in May; Adkins said details have yet to be locked down, but fans can expect some sort of announcement “any day.”

Scroll down for the track list to Damage, but first, let’s revisit Thom Yorke’s bleach-blond phase:

Damage track list:

1. “Appreciation”
2. “Damage”
3. “Lean”
4. “Book of Love”
5. “I Will Steal You Back”
6. “Please Say No”
7. “How’d You Have Me”
8. “No, Never”
9. “Byebyelove”
10. “You Were Good”