Skip to content

Hear Rick Ross’ Menacing Song for Quentin Tarantino’s ‘Django Unchained’ Soundtrack

'Django Unchained' Jamie Foxx Quentin Tarantino

In the newly released final trailer for Quentin Tarantino’s upcoming film Django Unchained, between gunshot after gunshot, there’s the unmistakable roar of Rick Ross. The song is titled “100 Black Coffins,” and its chanted title hook definitely suits the ultraviolent visuals, with Jamie Foxx playing a bounty hunter. The full track, which Foxx produced, is online now and you can hear it below.

Film-score icon Ennio Morricone’s spaghetti Western influence meets the trap here, as crunching feet, ghostly whistles, and martial chants put the percolating snare hits and zooming synths in an appropriately wide-screen context. Rozay’s brusque verses don’t rejoice in death so much as grimly acknowledge its realness, just an inevitable cost of Foxx’s character doing business. “Money on his head, bitch / I’m trying to make a fortune,” the Maybach boss rasps between whooping ad libs. Toward the end of the song, the lyrics get a bit Cliff’s Notes-y, as if Rozay might be recapping the plot, but it’s still more than enough to pump up anticipation. Spoiler alert: Something might happen to Django’s mother?

Along with Ross’ “Coffins,” the soundtrack, which marks the first time music-conscious director Tarantino has commissioned original songs for one of his movies, also includes a previously unreleased remix of James Brown’s legendary “The Payback” — with the late rapper Tupac Shakur lending a verse. John Legend contributes the new song “Who Did That to You,” and R&B singers Anthony Hamilton and Elayna Boynton add “Freedom.”

Due out December 18, one week before the film is set to hit theaters, the soundtrack also includes older material, such as Jim Croce’s 1973 folk-rock strummer “I Got a Name.” Coincidentally, ex-Clipse rapper Pusha T just announced his new album will be titled My Name Is My Name, quoting HBO’s The Wire (which itself was echoing Arthur Miller’s The Crucible).

Unfortunately, although Frank Ocean said in an interview published this month that he wrote a song for Django Unchained, the channel ORANGE singer-songwriter’s name is nowhere on the list. It’s worth pointing out, though, that in 1996, Radiohead recorded “Exit Music (for a Film)” specifically for the credit roll in Baz Luhrmann’s William Shakespeare’s Romeo + Juliet. The track didn’t appear on either of the film’s two official soundtracks — Bends B-side “Talk Show Host” did — but eventually made its way onto OK Computer the following year. Tarantino is known for catching audiences off guard with masterful twists, turns, and casting. Perhaps an end-credits surprise is in store? Oh, Quentin, we hope that you [don’t] choke.

Django Unchained: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack track list:

1. “Winged”
2. “Django (Main Theme)” – Luis Bacalov, Rocky Roberts
3. “The Braying Mule” – Ennio Morricone
4. “In That Case, Django, After You…”
5. “Lo Chiamavano King (His Name Is King)” – Luis Bacalov, Edda Dell’orso
6. “Freedom” – Anthony Hamilton & Elayna Boynton
7. “Five-Thousand-Dollar Nigga’s And Gummy Mouth Bitches”
8. “La Corsa (2nd Version)” – Luis Bacalov
9. “Sneaky Schultz and the Demise of Sharp”
10. “I Got a Name” – Jim Croce
11. “I Giorni Dell’ira” – Riz Ortolani
12. “100 Black Coffins” – Rick Ross
13. “Nicaragua” – Jerry Goldsmith featuring Pat Metheny
14. “Hildi’s Hot Box”
15. “Sister Sara’s Theme” – Ennio Morricone
16. “Ancora Qui” – Ennio Morricone and Elsa
17. “Unchained (The Payback/Untouchable)” – James Brown and 2Pac
18. “Who Did That To You?” – John Legend
19. “Too Old to Die Young” – Brother Edge
20. “Stephen The Poker Player”
21. “Un Monumento” – Ennio Morricone
22. “Six Shots Two Guns”
23. “Trinity (Titoli)” – Annibale E i Cantori Moderni