Skip to content

Mogwai’s ‘Hardcore Will Never Die But You Will’ Gets Remixed Into ‘A Wretched Virile Lore’

Mogwai remix album A Wretched Virile Lore

Scottish post-rock slayers Mogwai have commissioned a full-length remix set featuring a diverse set of contributors’ takes on songs from their incredibly well-named 2011 Sub Pop LP Hardcore Will Never Die But You Will. Dubbed A Wretched Virile Lore, the collection will see a limited colored vinyl run (2,500 copies) on November 23, with a proper CD and digital release on December 4. Among the bigger names wrangled are Jesu/Godflesh godhead Justin K. Broadrick, Pittsburgh space-rockers Zombi, ambient expert Tim Hecker, and darkwave demon the Soft Moon. Broadrick’s chugging reinvention of “George Square Thatcher Death Party” is streaming below.

Mogwai’s A Wretched Virile Lore Track List:

1. “George Square Thatcher Death Party (Justin K Broadrick Reshape)”
2. “Rano Pano (Klad Hest – Mogwai is My Dick RMX)”
3. “White Noise (EVP Mix by Cyclob)”
4. “How To Be A Werewolf (Xander Harris Remix)”
5. “Letters To The Metro (Zombi Remix)”
6. “Mexican Grand Prix (Reworked by RM Hubbert)”
7. “Rano Pano (Tim Hecker Remix)”
8. “San Pedro (The Soft Moon Remix)”
9. “Too Raging To Cheers (Umberto Remix)”
10. “La Mort Blanche (Robert Hampson Remix)”