Skip to content
News’s Best of the Week


This week, Eminem led the Grammy noms, Kanye West conquered the charts, and SPIN looked ahead at the top records coming out this winter. Meanwhile,Swede siren Lykke Li debuted new songs live, Coldplay and the Killers got into the holiday spirit with new Christmas videos, Dave Grohl chatted about the new Foo Fighters album, and the first preview of U2’s Spider-Man musical was tangled in a web of technical troubles.

These stories, plus the week’s top news, audio/video, and live reviews, below:


The 27 Winter Albums That Matter MostHEAR MUSIC: See our picks for the season’s biggest upcoming releases, including Duffy, Rye Rye, Daft Punk, and the Strokes. Read >> Plus

  • Eminem, Arcade Fire Nab Grammy Noms Read >>
  • Kanye West Wins the Battle of the Charts Read >>
  • WATCH: Coldplay’s Christmas Video Read >>
  • U2’s ‘Spider-Man’ Stumbles on Opening Night Read >>
  • Vote Now! SPIN’s 2010 Readers Poll Read >>


Dave Grohl Talks New Foo Fighters AlbumThe rock vet talks about his band’s 2011 release, featuring ex-Nirvana bassist Krist Novoselic and producer Butch Vig. Read >> Plus

  • Soundgarden’s Kim Thayil Hints at New Album Read >>
  • My Chemical Romance Plot Spring Tour Read >>
  • 11 Random Thoughts About the Random Grammys Read >>
  • Q&A: Redman on New Albums, Movies Read >>
  • Billie Joe Armstrong Returning to Broadway Read >>
  • Kirsten Dunst Reveals Her Favorite Music Read >>


Metallica: Three Decades of Metal MayhemCheck out the history of the kings of thrash, shot by their longtime photog and friend Ross Halfin. View >> Plus

  • SPIN’s 2010 Holiday Gift Guide View >>


WATCH: The Killers’ Christmas Video!The Las Vegas band reform to fight AIDS and send a warm holiday message. Read >> Plus

  • WATCH: Why MTV Banned 30 Seconds to Mars’ Video Read >>
  • WATCH: Grammy Nom Cee Lo’s Latest Heartbreaker Read >>
  • WATCH: Joy Formidable Unplug, Cover Passion Pit Read >>
  • Hear It: PJ Harvey’s Seductive Electro Ballad Read >>
  • Fall Out Boy’s Patrick Stump Debuts Solo Song Read >>
  • WATCH: Stylish Vid from Sean Lennon’s New Band Read >>
  • EXCLUSIVE: New Song from the Duke Spirit Read >>


Lykke Li Debuts New Songs in New YorkSwedish starlet takes wraps off her exhilarating 2011 album at intimate, one-off club show. Read >> Plus

  • Weezer Revisits ‘Blue Album,’ ‘Pinkerton’ in L.A. Read >>
  • Peter Hook Revives Joy Division Live — and Wow! Read >>
  • Black Lips Debut New Songs at Hometown Blowout Read >>


The Black Eyed Peas, The Beginning (’s gonna be an hysterically good night! Read >> Plus

  • Deadmau5, 4×4=12 (Ultra)Read >>
  • Girls, Broken Dreams Club (True Panther) Read >>
  • Broken Records, Let Me Come Home (4AD)Read >>
  • Tyvek, Nothing Fits (In The Red)Read >>
  • Jazmine Sullivan, Love Me Back (J)Read >>