Skip to content

New LCD Soundsystem Album Due in May


James Murphy has announced a May 18 release date for the yet-to-be-titled third album from his dance-rock outfit LCD Soundsystem. The record follows 2007’s Sound of Silver, which SPIN called both “rocking and rapturous.” See the new album’s tracklist below.

It’s a big spring for Murphy, who has also composed his first film score, for the upcoming Focus Features release Greenberg, starring Ben Stiller and directed by Noah Baumbach (The Squid and the Whale).

Understandably, the biggest challenge for Murphy this past year was juggling his two projects.

“The hardest part was stopping in the middle to make music that had absolutely nothing to do with the record,” Murphy tells SPIN. And the Greenberg soundtrack, which hits stores on March 23, is definitely a different world from LCD Soundsystem’s disco- and punk-infused electro sound.

“I wasn’t at all concerned about it sounding like me or sounding like LCD,” Murphy said of the playful, acoustic tunes used in the film. “In fact, it was almost a non-goal.”

Murphy began recording the new LCD Soundsystem album in Los Angeles last April, and just wrapped up his work last week. The record will be released on DFA/Virgin, and will coincide with a tour this spring, kicking off at Coachella on April 16. Check out the complete itinerary here.

Tracklist for LCD Soundsystem’s new album:
“Dance Yrself Clean”
“Drunk Girls”
“One Touch”
“All I Want”
“Pow Pow”
“Somebody’s Calling Me”
“What You Need”