Skip to content

Exclusive Stream: K’naan


As documented in the January ’09 issue of SPIN, Somalian emcee K’naan’s arduous journey from child refugee in his war-torn homeland to rising hip-hop artist will pay off with the Feb. 24 release of his much-anticipated second album, Troubadour.

The follow-up to 2005’s SPIN-approved The Dusty Foot Philosopher, Troubadour features contributions from a wide array of music’s finest, including the searing riffs of Metallica’s Kirk Hammett on “If Rap Gets Jealous,” the rhymes of hip-hop luminary Mos Def on “America,” and vocals from Maroon 5’s Adam Levine on “Bang Bang.”

For an early taste of Troubadour, stream album track “Fire In Freetown” below. Featuring folky acoustic guitars and a melody that recalls Afrobeat legend Fela Kuti, the new song is the perfect introduction to the eclecticism K’naan has honed.

Listen: K’naan, “Fire In Freetown”

Troubadour tracklist:
1. “ABC’s” (Featuring Chubb Rock)
2. “Dreamer”
3. “I Come Prepared” (Feat. Damian Marley)
4. “15 Minutes Away”
5. “Bang Bang” (Feat. Adam Levine)
6. “Fire In Freetown”
7. “People Like Me”
8. “Somalia”
9. “America” (Feat. Mos Def & Chali Tuna)
10. “Fatima”
11. “If Rap Gets Jealous” (Feat. Kirk Hammett)
12. “Take A Minute”
13. “T.I.A.”
14. “Waiving Flag”