Skip to content

New Tom Morello Album Due Sept. 30


On the heels of the Justice Tour — an outing with like-minded musicians honoring the Human Rights Declaration — and jaunts with anti-war collective Body of War, reunited rockers Rage Against the Machine, and his solo project the Nightwatchman, six-stringer extraordinaire/fervent political activist Tom Morello shows no signs of tiring. On Sept. 30, the guitarist/songwriter will unveil a new solo album, The Fabled City.

Touted as the follow up to 2007’s Nightwatchman debut, One Man Revolution, the new 11-song set — the first-ever release under Morello’s name (or, more exactly, as “Tom Morello: The Nightwatchman” — was produced by Brendan O’Brien (Bruce Springsteen, Pearl Jam) and features contributions from System of a Down‘s Serj Tankian and country rocker Shooter Jennings.

“My goal was to capture the energy and emotion of the Nightwatchman live shows,” Morello said of the new record in a statement. “There is a much more rocking quality to this record, solos and riffs, mixed with darker acoustic songs. I think my singing has come a long way as well. I had a lot of devastating losses of family and friends during the past two years and The Fabled City is a search for hope through music and confronting injustice.”

The Fabled City tracklisting:

1. “The Fabled City”
2. “Whatever It Takes”
3. “The King of Hell”
4. “Night Falls”
5. “The Lights Are On In Spidertown”
6. “Midnight In The City of Destruction”
7. “Saint Isabelle”
8. “Lazarus On Down featuring Serj Tankian”
9. “Gone Like Rain”
10. “The Iron Wheel featuring Shooter Jennings”
11. “Rise to Power”