Skip to content

New Paul Weller Album Out June 24


Cherished English rock’n’roll touchstone Paul Weller, the former frontman of revered mod-rock and new wave outfits the Jam and Style Council, respectively, has announced the release of 22 Dreams, his ninth solo studio effort to date, slated to arrive stateside June 24 via Yep Rock.

As the follow up to 2005’s As is Now, 22 Dreams was recorded with Simon Dine (Adventures in Stereo, Noonday Underground) at the seasoned rocker’s own Black Barn Studios in Surrey, and features contributions from understudies like Oasis’ Noel Gallagher, who co-wrote “Echoes Round the Sun,” and Blur axeman and solo artist Graham Coxon, whose guitar work is found on “Black River.” Former Stone Roses guitarist Aziz Ibrahim also joined forces with Weller to pen “God,” a tune a statement claims begins a flowing, album-capping “four-song suite.”

The 21-track album, arriving in the U.K. June 2 as a two-disc deluxe-edition, is crammed onto one disc for the U.S. release. Incentive to pick up the deluxe import: “Big Brass Buttons,” an instrumental collaboration with Primal Scream’s Bobby Gillespie and Andrew Innes.

22 Dreams tracklisting:

1. “Light Nights”
2. “22 Dreams”?
3. “All I Wanna Do (Is Be With You)”
4. “Have You Made up Your Mind”
5. “Empty Ring”
6. “Invisible”
7. “Song for Alice”
8. “Cold Moments”
9. “The Dark Pages of September Lead to the New Leaves of Spring”?
10. “Black River”?
11. “Why Walk When You Can Run”?
12. “Push It Along”?
13. “A Dream Reprise”?
14. “Echoes Round the Sun”?
15. “One Bright Star”?
16. “Lullaby Fur Kinder”?
17. “Where’er Ye Go”?
18. “God”?
19. “111”?
20. “Sea Spray”?
21. “Night Lights”