Skip to content

Kills Go ‘Boom’ On March Release; Presidents Return with ‘Good Times,’ Tour

“Fever”-inducing duo the Kills have wrapped recording efforts for Midnight Boom, the project’s follow up to 2005’s No Wow, and have slated a stateside release date: March 18 via Domino, reports. The duo — Jamie Hince and Alison Mosshart— originally holed up in a Los Angeles studio, but soon deserted theCity of Angels and all its commotion for the calmer environs of BentonHarbor, MI. “There were no distractions, and that provides room forcreativity,” Mosshart said of the rural studio. “We had to inventthings to do, and that kept us on our toes.”

The Kills tapped Spank Rock producer Armani XXXchange(a.k.a. Alex Epton) for the effort, for which Hince and Mosshart foundinspiration in television documentaries about ’60s youths. “We wantedto create ‘modern playground songs,’ with really upbeat melodies anddark lyrics, like kids used to sing during recess,” said Hince.

Midnight Boom tracklisting:

1. “U.R.A Fever”
2. “Cheap and Cheerful”
3. “Tape Song”
4. “Getting Down”
5. “Last Day of Magic”
6. “Hook and Line”
7. “Black Balloon”
8. “M.E.X.I.C.O.C.U.”
9. “Sour Cherry”
10. “Alphabet Pony”
11. “What New York Used”
12. “Goodnight Bad”

Presidents Return with ‘Good Times,’ Tour

Seattle-based rock’n’roll rabble rousers the Presidents of the United States of America will return March 11 with These are the Good Times People,the trio’s fourth album to date, set to arrive courtesy of EMI offshootFugitive Recordings. Produced the Fastbacks’ Kurt Bloch (RobynHitchcock, Mudhoney, Les Thugs) and mixed by Martin Feveyear (ScreamingTrees, Epoxies, Amber Pacific), These are the Time Good Times People will deliver 14 tracks, including titles like “Sharpen Up Those Fangs,” “Loose Balloon,” and “Truckstop Butterfly.”

Fanscan catch the band unveil new tunes and more on the road this comingspring; the Presidents’ 11-date U.S. touring will kick off March 14 inSeattle, then hit cities like San Francisco, Los Angeles, New York, andBoston.

These are the Good Times People tracklisting:

1. “Mixed Up S.O.B.”
2. “Ladybug”
3. “Sharpen Up Those Fangs”
4. “More Bad Times”
5. “French Girl”
6. “Truckstop Butterfly”
7. “Ghosts Are Everywhere”
8. “Loose Balloon”
9. “Flame is Love”
10. “So Lo So Hi”
11. “Poor Turtle”
12. “Rot in the Sun”
13. “Warhead”
14. “Deleter”

Presidents of the United States of America tour dates:

3/14, Portland, OR (Crystal Ballroom)
3/15, Seattle, WA (Paramount Theatre)
3/17, Sacramento, CA (The Boardwalk)
3/18, San Francisco, CA (Great American)
3/19, Anaheim, CA (House of Blues)
3/21, Los Angeles, CA (Roxy)
3/22, San Diego, CA (Belly Up)
3/24, New York, NY (Bowery Ballroom)
3/25, Washington, DC (9:30 Club)
3/26, Philadelphia, PA (The Trocadero)
3/27, Boston, MA (Paradise)

Hawthorne Heights Guitarist Calvert’s Death Ruled Overdose

Casey Calvert, axeman for breakout emo sensations Hawthorne Heights who was inexplicably discovered deadin the band’s tour bus Nov. 24, died of an accidental overdose ofprescription drugs, an autopsy report confirms. The autopsy, conductedin Washington, DC, the city in which Calvert was discovered in theband’s tour bus, concludes his death was due to the “acute combinedeffects of opiate, citalopram, and clonazepam intoxication.” The reportclaims Calvert’s death was accidental, though it states that it wasbrought on by “substance abuse.” Citalopram (a.k.a the brand nameCelexa) and clonazepam (a.k.a. Klonopin and Rivotril) are used to treatdepression, and seizure disorders and panic attacks, respectively. []

Bauhaus ‘Go Away’ with Final LP

After nearly 30 tumultuous years as a band, goth-rock deities Bauhaus have announced the release of Go Away White, their fifth studio album to date, first LP since 1983’s Burning from the Inside, and final release as a band, due March 4 via Bauhaus Musik. According to a spokesperson, the nine-song set was recorded by Daniel Ash, David J, Kevin Haskins, and Peter Murphy“in 2006 while the band was rehearsing for their Summer ’06 tour withNine Inch Nails.” Following the outing alongside Trent Reznor and crew,”the band decided not to continue” and felt “the album was a perfectbookend to Bauhaus.”

Go Away White tracklisting:

1. “Too Much 21st Century”
2. “Adrenalin”
3. “Undone”
4. “International Bulletproof Talent”
5. “Endless Summer of the Damned”
6. “Saved”
7. “Mirror Remains”
8. “Black Stone Heart”
9. “Zikir”

Share This