Skip to content

New Pornographers Leak Release Date, Tracklisting

New Pornographers have announced the tracklisting and exact release date for Challengers, the title of the band’s fourth full-length album, now slated to drop Aug. 21 via Matador. The new effort, featuring “a little more instrumentation than we’ve really tried having before,” showcases songwriting courtesy of band principal Carl Newman and Dan Bejar, with nine and three tunes, respectively. Members Neko Case and Immaculate Machine’s Kathryn Calder also add vocals to the album, which includes “Failsafe,” “Go Places,” and “The Spirit of Giving” as well as “Unguided,” a song Newman claims as his “first true epic at over 6:30 in length.”

Challengers tracklisting:

1. “My Rights Versus Yours”
2. “All the Old Showstoppers”
3. “Challengers”
4. “Myriad Harbour”
5. “All the Things That Go to Make Heaven and Earth”
6. “Failsafe”
7. “Unguided”
8. “Entering White Cecilia”
9. “Go Places”
10. “Mutiny, I Promise You”
11. “Adventures in Solitude”
12. “The Spirit of Giving”

On the Web:

Talk: Will Challengers defy New Pornographers’ status quo?