Animal Collective to Feed Fans ‘Strawberry Jam’

Finally, after a string of characteristic solo ventures, Animal Collective — BFF’s Avey Tare (David Portner), Panda Bear (Noah Lennox), Deakin (Josh Dibb), and Geologist (Brian Weitz) — have collected and announced the release of Strawberry Jam, the band’s sixth LP, set to drop at a yet-to-be specified date this September via Domino. The album, an over two-year process commencing with melodies and lyrics written by Panda Bear and Avey Tare before moving into full-band sessions in Lisbon, Portugal, was finally recorded in January of 2007 at the Wavelab in Tucson, Arizona. In a statement, the band claims to have experienced much “Tecate drinking, barbecues, Javelina sightings and other desert oddities” during the Arizona recording effort, all of which “might have influenced this record.” Trip out on that.

Strawberry Jam tracklisting:

1. “Peacebone”
2. “Unsolved Mysteries”
3. “Chores”
4. “For Reverend Green”
5. “Fireworks”
6. “#1”
7. “Winter Wonder Land”
8. “Cuckoo Cuckoo”
9. “Derek”

On the Web:
Animal Collective at

Talk: What “other desert oddities” do you think may have influenced Strawberry Jam?


you may like

Scroll to Top