News \

Album Updates: Liars, Pinback

Liars prep fourth album to date. Pinback map Autumn release date.

New York City’s punktrio Liars are gearing up to release theirfourth album, an 11-track self-titled affair, out August 28 on Mute.The new album is the follow-up to 2006’s Drum’s Not Dead andwas recorded, according to a band statement, “somewhere between L.A.and Berlin.” “I’d never felt like a songwriter ’til this album,”frontman Angus Andrew said in a statement. “If you told me last yearLiars would release a record like this, I would have laughed. If yousaid I’d be playing guitar solos, I’d have called you a liar. We neverknow what we’re making ’til it’s made…this time I’m a bit shocked.”

Liars tracklisting:

1. “Plaster Casts of Everything”
2. “Houseclouds”
3. “Leather Prowler”
4. “Sailing to Byzantium”
5. “What Would They Know”
6. “Cycle Time”
7. “Freak Out”
8. “Pure Unevil”
9. “Clear Island”
10. “The Dumb in the Rain”
11. “Protection”

RobCrow and Armistead Burwell “Zach” Smith IV, aka Pinback, have announcedtheir return to the musical fold, slated for Sept. 11 when their fourthLP Autumn of the Seraphs hits store shelves courtesy of Touch and Go, Pitchfork reports. As the follow up 2004’s Summer in Abaddon,the new 11-track set features drumming courtesy of Mario Rubalcaba(Rocket From the Crypt, Hot Snakes, Black Heart Procession) and ChrisPrescott (No Knife) and also marks the labels 300th release to date.

Autumn of the Seraphs tracklisting:

1. “From Nothing to Nowhere”
2. “Barnes”
3. “Good to Sea”
4. “How We Breathe”
5. “Walters”
6. “Subbing for Eden”
7. “Devil You Know”
8. “Blue Harvest”
9. “Torch”
10. “Bouquet”
11. “Off by 50″

On the Web:

Talk: Liars doing guitar solos?

Tags: Music News