Skip to content

Jay-Z, Zack de la Rocha, Eddie Vedder to Induct Famed Rockers

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame officials have announced details surrounding their March 12 NYC ceremony, during which Jay-Z will induct Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five, Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder will draft in R.E.M., and the Rolling Stones’ Keith Richards will welcome ’60s girl group the Ronettes, reports. In addition, Rage Against the Machine’s political-minded frontman Zack de la Rocha will induct punk priestess Patti Smith.

Rock supergroup Velvet Revolver will induct Van Halen as well as perform live in the band’s place. Soul diva Aretha Franklin will also be on hand to pay tribute to Ahmet Ertegun, the late Atlantic Records founder who also served as Chairman of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation, and spoke at each annual induction ceremony. For the first time ever, the event will be televised live via VH1 Classic.

>> Listen to R.E.M. on Napster
>> Listen to Pearl Jam on Napster
>> Listen to Jay-Z on Napster
>> Listen to Rage Against the Machine on Napster
>> Listen to Patti Smith on Napster

On the Web:

Talk: What other artists should be included at this year’s Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony?