Zion-I, 'The TakeOver (Gold Dust Media)

The TakeOver
Critical Mass
Label: Gold Dust Media

by Mosi Reeves

On their sixth album, this Oakland duo (plus guests Devin the Dude and Brother Ali) explicitly address an urban audience unbowed by class warfare and street crime. Unabashedly upbeat, MC Zumbi compares ghetto life to being a "caged bird," but even when he dismisses haters ("Burning incense, yeah, they tried to call us yoga"), he sounds optimistic. Mad-scientist producer Amplive -- whose Radiohead and MGMT remixes created a buzz last year -- blends jazz-influenced, melodic orchestrations with stark electro-bass rhythms, and on "Country Baked Yams," devises a unique Southern sci-fi vibe, mixing eight-bit blips with psychedelic soul.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Will Butler — You Must Be Kidding " 03:54
  • 2 Clarence Clarity — 1-800-WORSHIP " 04:30
  • 3 The Knocks — Dancing With Myself " 00:00
  • 4 Lady Gaga — Till It Happens to You " 03:24
  • 5 Chelsea Lankes — Too Young to Fall in Love " 03:11
  • 6 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 7 Holly Miranda — All I Want Is to Be Your Girl " 02:35

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA