UGK, 'UGK 4 Life' (Jive)

Critical Mass

by Thomas Golianopoulos

UGK 4 Life is a fitting capper to this Texas duo's storied career -- nothing groundbreaking, just funky, rough-hewn, celebratory tracks. On the best, "Purse Come First," the late Pimp C bluntly philosophizes ("Life is some pussy, motherfucker, I'ma get me some") over a dirty guitar lick and scattered horns, while Bun B skeptically explores conspiracy theories ("It's a new world order -- at least that's what I read"). Alas, their swan song is marred by the unabashed radio reach "Hard as Hell," which features Akon robo-crooning about the status of his boner.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Prince & 3RDEYEGIRL — Prince - Clouds " 04:34
  • 2 P. Reign — DnF (feat. Drake & Future) " 03:25
  • 3 Stalley — Jackin' Chevys (Prod. by Rashad) " 03:26
  • 4 Emile Haynie — A Kiss Goodbye (feat. Charlotte Gainsbourg, Devonté Hynes, Sampha) " 03:46
  • 5 Rusko — I Wanna Mingle (ft Pusher) " 02:37

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA