Thee Silver Mt. Zion Memorial Orchestra & Tra-La-La Band, '13 Blues for Thirteen Moons' (Constellation)

13 Blues for Thirteen Moons
Critical Mass
Label: Constellation

by Jason Gross

Possibly spooked by the specter of global warming, this freakfolk spin-off from Godspeed You! Black Emperor shakes the new-age romanticism of their earlier albums and makes like a doomsday cult. The Montreal group has never sounded so desperate or epic as on their fifth album's four earth-scorching, quarter-hour compositions. The broken rhythms and angry call-and-response of the title track, and the bitter, sustained drone of "Black Waters Blowed/Engine Broke Blues" are relieved only by the soothing strings and weary, defiant vocals of "BlindBlindBlind." Perhaps it's no surprise Godspeed recently went on hiatus, expressing frustration with the band's message in the shadow of the Iraq War.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Katy Perry — Katy Perry - This Is How We Do (feat. RiFF RAFF) " 03:24
  • 2 Prince & 3RDEYEGIRL — Prince - Clouds " 04:34
  • 3 P. Reign — DnF (feat. Drake & Future) " 03:25
  • 4 Stalley — Jackin' Chevys (Prod. by Rashad) " 03:26
  • 5 Emile Haynie — A Kiss Goodbye (feat. Charlotte Gainsbourg, Devonté Hynes, Sampha) " 03:46
  • 6 Rusko — I Wanna Mingle (ft Pusher) " 02:37

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA