Tanya Morgan, 'Brooklynati' (Interdependent Media)

Critical Mass

by Mosi Reeves

Three years after their debut, this trio is already preoccupied with career issues, from half-assed promoters to message-board haters. But MCs Donwill and Ilyas and MC-producer Von Pea lend a fresh perspective to these shopworn clichés. Crisp beat loops recalling Pete Rock and 9th Wonder accompany smooth hip-hop soul ("Never Enough") and indie-rap ciphers ("Never 2ndary"). And smart, left-field parodies such as "Hardcore Gentlemen," which sends up early-'90s horrorcore, prove that Tanya Morgan may go hard in pursuit of rap dreams, but they haven't lost their infectious sense of humor.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Roger Sellers — Waves " 06:30
  • 2 Dorian Concept — Ann River, Mn " 04:08
  • 3 Run the Jewels — Blockbuster Night Part 1 " 02:32
  • 4 T.I. — New National Anthem Feat Skylar Grey " 04:17
  • 5 Katy Perry — Katy Perry - This Is How We Do (feat. RiFF RAFF) " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA