Slayer, 'World Painted Blood' (American/Columbia)

Critical Mass

by Chuck Eddy

Their horrific onslaught has been passed on the extreme left by myriad black-death grind upstarts, and these thrash originators mostly spin their mosh-pitstuck wheels on this tenth studio album -- anticipating Armageddon, reveling in torture, protesting oil war. Tom Araya's shriek has grown ponderous, and not until rosary-ripping closer "Not of This God" do the four mid-fortysomethings bypass their rigid polkacore hopscotch for a devastating groove. Still, Kerry King's riffs dive-bomb true throughout. And an inadvertent nod to the Anarchist Cheerleaders on "Public Display of Dismemberment" is a hoot.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Roger Sellers — Waves " 06:30
  • 2 Dorian Concept — Ann River, Mn " 04:08
  • 3 Run the Jewels — Blockbuster Night Part 1 " 02:32
  • 4 T.I. — New National Anthem Feat Skylar Grey " 04:17
  • 5 Katy Perry — Katy Perry - This Is How We Do (feat. RiFF RAFF) " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA