Sian Alice Group, '59.59' (The Social Registry)

Critical Mass
Label: The Social Registry

by Josh Modell

Sian Alice Group spend a good chunk of their debut full-length gradually building a mood, circling around their songs rather than tackling them head-on. When pop structure interrupts the soundtrack-y vibe, it's modestly and briefly, as if too much of singer Sian Ahern's sad, smoky voice would lessen the mystery. But they establish a beautifully woozy tension: "Heartless" glides around strings, piano, and vocals, unsure of whether it wants to drift away on an ice floe, Sigur Rós style, or chill in a classical concert hall.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Little Big League — Tropical Jinx " 01:59
  • 2 ScHoolboy Q — Studio (Remix) Feat. Nas & BJ the CHicago Kid " 04:52
  • 3 Miley Cyrus — Baby, I'm Gonna Leave You - Led Zeppelin (Cover) " 05:44
  • 4 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26
  • 5 Buzzcocks — "It's Not You" " 02:46

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA