Saigon, 'Warning Shots 2' (Amalgam Digital)

Warning Shots 2
Critical Mass
Label: Amalgam Digital

by Thomas Golianopoulos

In 2005, Saigon was the most buzzed-about rapper since 50 Cent. But despite a supporting role on Entourage and a Just Blaze co-sign, his proper debut album, The Greatest Story Never Told, remains shelved. Saigon waves the white flag on Warning Shots 2. "For Some Pussy" is a brain-dead call-and-response, while "Cookies and Milk" retreads "Lollipop." It's all beneath this talented MC, who on his best days combines Nas' ghetto imagery with KRS-One's tough-love teachings. At least he knows it. On "Be on Time," Warning Shots 2's umpteenth strip-club reach, he says, "Nah, stop that. Fuck that. We don't want to hear that."

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Katy Perry — Katy Perry - This Is How We Do (feat. RiFF RAFF) " 03:24
  • 2 Prince & 3RDEYEGIRL — Prince - Clouds " 04:34
  • 3 P. Reign — DnF (feat. Drake & Future) " 03:25
  • 4 Stalley — Jackin' Chevys (Prod. by Rashad) " 03:26
  • 5 Emile Haynie — A Kiss Goodbye (feat. Charlotte Gainsbourg, Devonté Hynes, Sampha) " 03:46
  • 6 Rusko — I Wanna Mingle (ft Pusher) " 02:37

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA