Olof Arnalds, 'Innundir Skinni' (One Little Indian)

Innundir Skinni
Critical Mass
Label: One Little Indian

by Jon Young

At first, this album just feels wrong. Icelander Ólöf Arnalds performs mostly in her native tongue, creating a David Lynchian sense of disorientation, and her sweet trill sounds sped-up, even at leisurely tempos. But once you adjust to the lighter gravity, Innundir Skinni ("Under the Skin") makes lovely sense. Produced by Sigur Rós' Kjartan Sveinsson, Arnalds embellishes her debut's spare guitar-voice template with discreet overdubs, including brass and strings, enhancing breathtaking tunes like "Surrender" (which features Björk adding a swirling countermelody). For those who consider Joanna Newsom too mainstream.


iTunes Amazonsrc="http://www.spin.com/sites/spin.com/files/imagecache/huge_page_view/site s/spin.com/files/amazon.jpg">

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA