New Modey Lemon MP3: "It Made You Dumb"

Critical Mass

by Larry Fitzmaurice

Pittsburgh, PA: home to the Steelers, plenty of steel mills, and steely fuzz-rock act Modey Lemon. The trio's latest record, Season of Sweets, is primed to hit taste buds June 10, and album cut "It Made You Dumb" is a perfect sampler of the Lemon's noisy, sickeningly sweet racket.

Shambolic drumming and jangly guitar lines compliment each other perfectly as vocalist Phil Boyd's voice climbs up and down each verse's melody; before you know it, everything explodes into one grin-inducing chorus as Boyd shouts, "You cut your tongue / And it made you dumb." Being stupid never sounded so good.Season of Sweets drops June 10 via Birdman.

Now Watch This: "It Made You Dumb" (DOWNLOAD MP3)

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 YELLE — MOTEUR ACTION (SOPHIE & A. G. Cook Remix) " 03:02
  • 2 Yak — Something on Your Mind " 03:40
  • 3 Kopecky — Quarterback " 02:52
  • 4 Ava Luna — Coat Of Shellac " 03:45
  • 5 Young Guv — Ripe 4 Luv " 32:41
  • 6 Big Harp — It's a Shame " 01:57
  • 7 Blood Orange — Delancey " 02:15

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA