Memoryhouse, 'The Years EP' (Sub Pop)

The Years EP
Critical Mass
Release Date: September 13, 2011
Label: Sub Pop

by Eric Harvey

Memoryhouse recall much recent New Age–influenced indie rock, though Denise Nouvion's matter-of-fact enunciation -- very early-'90s MTV Buzz Bin -- cuts through this EP's diffuse filter, adding a fresh female voice to the chakra-friendly resurgence's overwhelming maleness (Animal Collective, Dntel, Emeralds, Oneohtrix Point Never). Though the five songs here -- two have been added to the self-released version -- are dabbed with glimmering synths, the lyrics idly address dream states and the tempos are comatose. A sighing saxophone slithers under the bedroom door of "Lately," but it probably won't disturb anyone's nap.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Prince & 3RDEYEGIRL — Prince - Clouds " 04:34
  • 2 P. Reign — DnF (feat. Drake & Future) " 03:25
  • 3 Stalley — Jackin' Chevys (Prod. by Rashad) " 03:26
  • 4 Emile Haynie — A Kiss Goodbye (feat. Charlotte Gainsbourg, Devonté Hynes, Sampha) " 03:46
  • 5 Rusko — I Wanna Mingle (ft Pusher) " 02:37

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA