Lupe Fiasco, 'Lasers' (1st & 15th/Atlantic)

Critical Mass
Release Date: March 8, 2011
Label: 1st & 15th/Atlantic

by Brandon Soderberg

Lupe Fiasco's oft-delayed, way too overthought third album fuses the seething, political rap of the underground with the motivational, occasionally emo fist-pumping that's been at the top of the charts in the past year. "Words I Never Said" is like B.o.B's "Airplanes" or Eminem's "Love the Way You Lie" with a dash of early-'90s Ice Cube and a whole bunch of Evanescence angst. Armed with that wonky combination, Fiasco smuggles 9/11 conspiracies and a fairly sophisticated take on the Middle East into a pop-rap anthem. Compared to Lasers' other confrontational crossover songs (the flimsy "State Run Radio," the nearly clever "All Black Everything"), "Words" is an effective attempt at culture-jamming the Billboard charts.

Lasers works best, however, when the grabby hooks, electro beats, and conscious rap rants are all turned down a notch. "Till I Get There" is a playful mission statement and, well, that's all it is. "The Show" provides earthy inspiration while critiquing dope-dealer culture (and interpolating "Float On" by Modest Mouse). And the for-the-ladies rap "Out of My Head," featuring Trey Songz, skips icky lover-man clichés and employs an extended music-industry-as-romance metaphor instead. If "Out" doesn't become a hit, it will be more of an injustice than "Words" failing to subvert corporate-controlled radio and start the revolution. Just don'ttell Lupe that.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Paperwhite — Pieces " 03:58
  • 2 Michael Rault — Nothing Means Nothing " 02:56
  • 3 Gold Beach — Impressions " 04:32
  • 4 GENUFLEX — The Last Gods (Mark Stewart And Rambone Remix) " 05:13
  • 5 Sleigh Bells — That Did It Feat. Tink " 02:41
  • 6 Monster Rally & Jay Stone — Recollection " 02:10
  • 7 Little Boots — Pretty Tough " 03:18

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA