Kassin+2, 'Futurismo' (Luaka Bop)

Critical Mass
Label: Luaka Bop

by Jon Young

Previous albums from the band called the +2's spotlighted singer/guitarist Moreno Veloso (2001's Music Typewriter) and electronic experimentalist Domenico Lancelotti (2004's Sincerely Hot). This time, bassist Alexandre Kassin takes control. While the intoxicating Futurismo features the gorgeous melodies and lilting rhythms that traditionalists expect from Brazilian music, Kassin alters the script. "Ponto Final" combines a seriously funky beat with jabbering nonsense voices, and "Homem Ao Mar" deploys twangy, thrashing guitars to create cosmopolitan garage rock. High Llamas honcho Sean O'Hagan guests on two tracks, underscoring the multicultural community vibe.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 G-Eazy — Say Ft. French Montana " 04:32
  • 2 Bellows — Funny Things " 03:17
  • 3 Living Days — Thrill Anybody (MNDR Remix) " 04:07
  • 4 Whirr — Heavy " 04:15
  • 5 Chance the Rapper & The Social Experiment — Wonderful Everyday: Arthur " 03:33
  • 6 Tweedy — Low Key " 03:15

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA