Isis, 'Wavering Radiant' (Ipecac)

Critical Mass

by Joe Gross

Isis' last few albums -- which weaved between heavy ambience and ambient heft, usually erring on the side of spaciness -- made the Los Angeles–based band absurdly influential post-metal icons. But here, they temper the sun-staring and remember to thrash now and then for the brainy geeks who have been down since day one. Songs are still suite-sized, but this is the toughest and catchiest Isis record since their 1999 debut full-length, Celestial. Here, they soar and attack in equal measure: widescreen escapism for an age of diminished expectations.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Prince & 3RDEYEGIRL — Prince - Clouds " 04:34
  • 2 P. Reign — DnF (feat. Drake & Future) " 03:25
  • 3 Stalley — Jackin' Chevys (Prod. by Rashad) " 03:26
  • 4 Emile Haynie — A Kiss Goodbye (feat. Charlotte Gainsbourg, Devonté Hynes, Sampha) " 03:46
  • 5 Rusko — I Wanna Mingle (ft Pusher) " 02:37

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA