Here We Go Magic, 'Pigeons' (Secretly Canadian)

Critical Mass
Label: Secretly Canadian

by Mike Powell

Three years ago, Luke Temple was a banjo-playing bedroom folkie. Then he morphed into an Afropop-influenced bedroom folkie who dabbled in sound collage. Now, on his second album as Here We Go Magic and first with a full band, he plays like he's been dreaming with Brian Eno's art-rock records under his pillow. While Temple's hermaphroditic alto endures the costume changes, the songs often don't, and the couple of undeniably great tracks -- like the rigid, kinetic "Collector" -- get lost in the parade of influences.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Katy Perry — Katy Perry - This Is How We Do (feat. RiFF RAFF) " 03:24
  • 2 Prince & 3RDEYEGIRL — Prince - Clouds " 04:34
  • 3 P. Reign — DnF (feat. Drake & Future) " 03:25
  • 4 Stalley — Jackin' Chevys (Prod. by Rashad) " 03:26
  • 5 Emile Haynie — A Kiss Goodbye (feat. Charlotte Gainsbourg, Devonté Hynes, Sampha) " 03:46
  • 6 Rusko — I Wanna Mingle (ft Pusher) " 02:37

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA