DJ Shadow, 'The Less You Know, the Better' (Verve)

The Less You Know, the Better
Critical Mass
Release Date: October 4, 2011
Label: Verve

by Rob Harvilla

He does whatever he wants, this guy. Though nowhere near as antagonistic as 2006's hyphy-saturated The Outsider, DJ Shadow's fourth album still defies expectations, dabbling freely in heavy-metal riffage ("Border Crossing," "I Gotta Rokk"), sun-kissed acoustic reverie ("I Been Trying"), and Killers-style Brit-rock (the Tom Vek–assisted "Warning Call"). Highlights: Afrikan Boy cameos on a manic, infectious "I'm Excited," while the lovely "Redeemer" comes closest to acknowledging the ambient-turntablist grandeur that made Shadow famous. But the churning poetic dirge "Give Me Back the Nights" screams "go away," almost literally. The Less You Know, the Better ?is equal parts frustrating and admirable; as the title suggests, don't bother looking for Shadow oversharing on Twitter.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 2 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 3 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 4 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 5 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 6 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02
  • 7 Zuli — Better All the Time " 03:31

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA