Das Racist, 'Sit Down, Man' (Greedhead/Mad Decent)

Sit Down, Man
Critical Mass
Release Date: September 16, 2010
Label: Greedhead/Mad Decent

by Ben Detrick

When Das Racist debuted with 2008's "Combination Pizza Hut and Taco Bell," it was difficult to tell if the Brooklyn duo were just outsider scoundrels poking fun at hip-hop. Sit Down, Man clears things up: Victor Vazquez and Himanshu Suri are rap nerds who uncoil verses crammed with obscure, wide-ranging references and cutting social observation. It's Rawkus Records-era indie weirdness without the purist rigidity. Snagging twitchy beats from El-P, Diplo, Dame Grease, and others, they express adoration for hip-hop's wonderfully sprawling meta-ness. And on the satirical fiasco "Fashion Party," abetted by Chairlift's glossy synths, they murmur their punch lines with effete élan: "Wafers and crackers, famous actors / Duck confit, pinot grigio / Hummus with miso."

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Brandy Zdan — More of a Man " 03:33
  • 2 Tiësto & KSHMR — Secrets " 04:28
  • 3 Mercies — Every Echo " 00:00
  • 4 Jimmy Whispers — Heart Don't Know " 02:32
  • 5 GRiZ — For The Love " 04:41
  • 6 King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard — God Is in the Rhythm " 03:46
  • 7 FlatbushZOMBiES — Did U Ever Think feat. Joey BadA$$ & Issa Gold " 05:02

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA