Cypress Hill, 'Rise Up' (EMI/Priority)

Rise Up
Critical Mass
Label: EMI/Prioriy

by Kenny Herzog

Cypress Hill's ninth studio album has its bangin' back-to-basics moments, especially on the B-Real–­produced groove monsters "It Ain't Nothin'" and "Get 'Em Up," as well as the smooth-tempo, 21st-century funk of "Armed and Dangerous" (coproduced by up-and-comer Jake One). Problem is, there's also plenty of guitar-driven frat rock, though at least the Latino legends recruit Tom Morello and Systemof a Down's Daron Malakian to supply the metallic pyro. Rise Up doesn't always meet the occasion, but it's Cypress' mostconsistently listenable album in 15 years.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Roger Sellers — Waves " 06:30
  • 2 Dorian Concept — Ann River, Mn " 04:08
  • 3 Run the Jewels — Blockbuster Night Part 1 " 02:32
  • 4 T.I. — New National Anthem Feat Skylar Grey " 04:17
  • 5 Katy Perry — Katy Perry - This Is How We Do (feat. RiFF RAFF) " 03:24

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA