Blitzen Trapper, 'Furr' (Sub Pop)

Critical Mass
Label: Sub Pop

by William Goodman

With 2007's dizzyingly pastoral Wild Mountain Nation, this genre-blending sextet rendered any reductive classification impossible. But on their fourth album, singer-songwriter Eric Earley takes a stab: "I'm a moon-walkin' cowboy," he sings on the heartfelt ballad "Not Your Lover." The band's freak-out, slacker glam jams return, but it's Earley's comparatively focused alt-country side that impresses; rollicking outlaw narrative "Black River Killer" and backwoodsy "Lady on the Water" shine with spacey, eclectic instrumentation, from blipping synths to serene woodwinds.



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Katy Perry — Katy Perry - This Is How We Do (feat. RiFF RAFF) " 03:24
  • 2 Prince & 3RDEYEGIRL — Prince - Clouds " 04:34
  • 3 P. Reign — DnF (feat. Drake & Future) " 03:25
  • 4 Stalley — Jackin' Chevys (Prod. by Rashad) " 03:26
  • 5 Emile Haynie — A Kiss Goodbye (feat. Charlotte Gainsbourg, Devonté Hynes, Sampha) " 03:46
  • 6 Rusko — I Wanna Mingle (ft Pusher) " 02:37

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA