The Apples In Stereo, 'Electronic Projects for Musicians' (Simian/Yep Roc/Elephant 6)

Electronic Projects for Musicians
Critical Mass
Label: Simian/Yep Roc/Elephant 6)

by Stacey Anderson

After 15 years, the Apples in Stereo are still smiling, and their second B-sides compilation (after 1996's Science Faire) is a clear reflection of that indelible good cheer. Paced similarly to 2002's Velocity of Sound, the album opens with structured lo-fi psychedelic rock and edges into a more sprawling expanse, all dusted with frontman Robert Schneider's vocodered hiss. "Dreams," once intended for 1997's Tone Soul Evolution, is mistily reinvented with sweet chimes, and "The Apples Theme Song" nabs the introductory shtick of the Monkees with equal goofy panache. Hey, hey!



00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 G-Eazy — Say Ft. French Montana " 04:32
  • 2 Bellows — Funny Things " 03:17
  • 3 Living Days — Thrill Anybody (MNDR Remix) " 04:07
  • 4 Whirr — Heavy " 04:15
  • 5 Chance the Rapper & The Social Experiment — Wonderful Everyday: Arthur " 03:33
  • 6 Tweedy — Low Key " 03:15

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA