Africa Hitech, '93 Million Miles' (Warp)

93 Million Miles
Critical Mass
Release Date: May 10, 2011
Label: Warp

by Philip Sherburne

Ninety-three million miles is the distance between the sun and the earth, a constant fixed by gravity. But Africa Hitech -- avant-soul producer-singer Steve Spacek and ambient breakbeat veteran Mark Pritchard (of Global Communication) -- are mapping the more elastic universe of "bass music," tracing the ?orbits of dubstep, grime, and U.K. funky, genres united by low-end throb and twinkling synth arpeggios. The Ini Kamoze–sampling "Out in the Streets" veers from vintage dancehall to futuristic juke, "Light the Way" and "Cyclic Sun" adapt spiritual jazz for digital-age acolytes. The album's so?full of wormholes, every listen is an astral trip.

00:00 00:00 No Song Selected More info
00:00 00:00
Now Playing
  • 1 Little Big League — Tropical Jinx " 01:59
  • 2 ScHoolboy Q — Studio (Remix) Feat. Nas & BJ the CHicago Kid " 04:52
  • 3 Miley Cyrus — Baby, I'm Gonna Leave You - Led Zeppelin (Cover) " 05:44
  • 4 Chris Brown & Trey Songz — Tuesday (Remix) " 04:26
  • 5 Buzzcocks — "It's Not You" " 02:46

SPIN is a member of SPIN Music Group, a division of BUZZMEDIA